Picture of the Week #50: Hiroshi Sugimoto’s Theatres

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This week I have some very beautiful photographs for you. Hiroshi Sugimoto shot these images of American (movie) theatres with a long exposure, capturing entire films in a single frame, reducing movement to stasis and complicating the usual distinctions between still photography (instant) and film (continuous). Here’s how he describes the germ of the idea:

I’m a habitual self-interlocutor. Around the time I started photographing at the Natural History Museum, one evening I had a near-hallucinatory vision. The question-and-answer session that led up to this vision went something like this: Suppose you shoot a whole movie in a single frame? And the answer: You get a shining screen. Immediately I sprang into action, experimenting toward realizing this vision. Dressed up as a tourist, I walked into a cheap cinema in the East Village with a large-format camera. As soon as the movie started, I fixed the shutter at a wide-open aperture, and two hours later when the movie finished, I clicked the shutter closed. That evening, I developed the film, and the vision exploded behind my eyes.

Of course, you can’t see which film is which – there is only a celestial glow emanating from the screen. It’s a wonderfully romantic vision of the cinemagoing experience as a trascendence of our quotidian timeframe (and don’t you wish all cinemas looked like these?. See more of Sugimoto’s spectacular photographs at his website.

6 thoughts on “Picture of the Week #50: Hiroshi Sugimoto’s Theatres

  1. Pingback: blog.lhli.net

  2. Pingback: blog.lhli.net

  3. Pingback: Arles in nero, Sujimoto e Arbus | Bartleby Café

  4. Pingback: I teatri vuoti di Sujimoto e Diane Arbus | Punctum

  5. Pingback: I teatri vuoti di Sugimoto e Diane Arbus | bartleby café

  6. Pingback: Andrew Cross – On the Art of Staring, essay – Andrews Masters Journey

Leave a comment