Spectacular Attractions Video Podcast #001

This week, I present the first of what I hope will develop into a regular series of short video podcasts. Last year, I experimented with ten audio podcasts, most of which adapted posts previously published on this blog. As much as I enjoyed making those shows, I missed being able to show images and clips, so this is an opportunity to refer very directly to particular scenes from films; sometimes I’ll analyse a single clip, and other times the subject will be more of a video essay like this first entry, which revisits a post about Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. You can read the original entry here, but I really wanted to start with something familiar to get used to the editing software. I’m using iMovie for now, but might progress to something more complex if needed. This equipment serves my purposes for now.

I plan to follow this with two more short videos about 2001, and then a broader variety of films. If time allows, new video podcasts will appear every fortnight. Feedback on episode #001 would be greatly appreciated:

Spectacular Attractions Video Podcast #001: 2001: A Space Odyssey – This Way Up from Dan North on Vimeo.

8 thoughts on “Spectacular Attractions Video Podcast #001

  1. Ah that was lovely! Very gracefully edited and a nice, clear through-line that ties the film together. Haha and you sound like Mark Cousins! XD Trying not to wake the baby? ;D

    • Thanks, Adam. Glad you liked it. I enjoy tinkering with different ways of communicating information, so messing around with iMovie is a good distraction. I think I was a bit throaty that day, and trying to talk along with the pictures does impose a certain kind of solicitous tone, but yes, I find that I barely raise my voice at all in the house any more. People talk about how noisy early parenthood, but for the most part it creates a reverent, calm quiet. If I was really try to sound like Mark Cousins, I would have mentioned 2001 in passing and then sidetracked to talk about how a much greater film about space travel was made in Iran ten years earlier.

  2. Very nice! Thanks for checking out these possibilities, I’m always learning a lot. What software do you use to capture the footage from the DVD?

    also: “If I was really try to sound like Mark Cousins, I would have mentioned 2001 in passing and then sidetracked to talk about how a much greater film about space travel was made in Iran ten years earlier.” – made me Laugh out Loud (LOL, if you will, but that sounds so unsophisticated ;)).

  3. Just saw your first video. Nice, many insights despite the very limited time frame, very nice. One thing though, maybe just my problem, but I found the music quite distracting to be honest. Looking forward to your discussion of Cache, a film I admire quite a lot.

Leave a Reply

