Picture of the Week #15: Santo Posters

El Santo (real name: Rodolfo Guzmán Huerta (1917 – 1984)) was a masked Mexican wrestler (luchador enmascarado), folk hero and semi-mythical star of over fifty movies (1958-1982). He has also been represented in comic books and cartoons; the scale of his renown, divorced from the actual person around whom it was all built, is extraordinary, as evidenced by these marvellous movie posters. Mysteriously masked, barrel-chested and ripped without being prettily sculpted, battling monsters, aliens and crooks with his big bare hands, he’s possibly the closest we’ve come to having a real life superhero walking the Earth.

2 thoughts on “Picture of the Week #15: Santo Posters

  1. Hello,
    I am an Erasmus French student in Exeter uni and I was in one of your class at the first term (film form fantasy and fiction). As I found it really interesting and as I have some free time this term, I would want to join some screenings and I found that you had a module called Popular British Cinema (EAS3126). If it is not a problem for you, I would like to know when and where the screenings are, and maybe what is the program of the movies… Could you tell me that?
    Thank you very much,
    Kind regards,
    Anaïs Roussin

    • Hi, Anais. I’m afraid that module is not running this year. It’s being rested while I teach “Spectacular Attractions” and “Film Form”, both of which are now finished. Popular British Cinema will be running next year, in revised form, as an MA module. If you like, I can send you the old syllabus and reading list so you can see what was included. Just email me at d.r.north@exeter.ac.uk.

Leave a Reply

